March 27, 2023

Soon, non-resident Indians in ten nations will be allowed to use UPI to send money.


The list of nations that will soon be allowing non-resident Indians to use UPI to send money includes: Bahrain, Canada, China, the European Union, Hong Kong, Japan, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

The unified payments interface (UPI) will soon allow non-resident Indians (NRI’s) from ten different countries to transfer money online using their non-resident (external) rupee (NRE) or non-resident ordinary (NRO) bank accounts. In a previous circular, the National Payments Corporation of India requested UPI members to develop a system by April 30 that would enable NRIs to make digital payments without obtaining an Indian mobile number.

Ten nations are now able to conduct online transactions as part of a test programme by NCPI. Indians who have mobile numbers with one of these ten countries’ country codes will be able to conduct digital transactions. The circular stated, “We shall, in the beginning, be facilitating transaction through mobile phones with the country code of (10 nations)… and shall, in the near future, extend for more country codes…

Group Media Publications
General News Platform –
Entertainment News Platforms – 
Construction Infrastructure and Mining News Platform –
Podcast Platforms –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *